About LPGA

The Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) is one of the longest-running women’s professional sports associations in the world. Founded in 1950, the organization has grown from its roots as a playing tour into a nonprofit organization involved in every facet of golf. The LPGA Tour and the LPGA Teaching and Club Professionals (T&CP) comprise the backbone of what has become the premier women’s professional sports organization in the world today. The LPGA maintains a strong focus on charity through its tournaments, its grassroots junior and women’s programs, and its LPGA Foundation. The LPGA is under the guidance of Commissioner Michael Whan and is headquartered in Daytona Beach, Fla.

Commissioner Michael Whan
Michael Whan is the eighth commissioner of the LPGA. Whan assumed the leadership role at the LPGA on Jan. 4, 2010, with an eye toward enhancing business relationships, increasing exposure for the players and maximizing the LPGA experience for fans. He has led a resurgence of the LPGA by developing innovative events and partnerships, embracing the global makeup of the Tour and piloting the “See Why It’s Different Out Here” marketing campaign that focuses on the unique and approachable personalities of the LPGA’s players.

LPGA Tour Membership
Today’s LPGA Tour features the most talented global group of professional athletes who, in 2017, will compete in 34 official money events in 15 countries. Of the more than 530 LPGA Tour members, approximately 220 are active competitors throughout the season. Of that group, 125 are international members representing 32 different countries


Visit Site